Searching For A Star

About five months ago, I entered the Choc Lit ‘Search for a Star’ contest. I had no expectation of winning anything, but I had taken to heart the dictum ‘if you don’t enter, you’ll never win anything’. So I submitted my application form and fee, and shortly afterwards, in response to an email, sent off the whole 73,000-word manuscript.

And then I completely forgot about it. This isn’t remotely surprising. I don’t seem to be able to remember anything these days (at lunchtime I had to get off the bus and rush back to the previous stop as I had just realised I’d left a bag of shopping on a seat. Fortunately it was still there when I panted back). I know a number of Choc Lit authors and they seem very happy with their publisher, but I had no expectations myself. Me? Never going to happen.

So I was completely stunned – and very pleased – to find out a couple of weeks ago that my novel, ‘If It Wasn’t For Sophie’, was one of the six on the short-list. It still hasn’t quite sunk in, and I’ve only a fortnight or so to enjoy the possibilities, before the winner is announced. And even if it isn’t me, I shall at last have an achievement to put on my blog. ‘Shortlisted in Choc Lit’s 2015 Search For A Star contest’. Sounds good, doesn’t it? I just need to work out the IT involved….

In the meantime, I’m wishing all the other contestants well. If you are one of them, then I hope it’s you. You know what? – actually, I really hope it’s me, but if that doesn’t happen, then I hope it’s you. Good luck!

 

P.S. It wasn’t me (sniff). But congratulations, Lynda Stacey! You can find out more about Lynda here – http://www.shewrites.com/profile/LyndaStacey

Leave a Reply

