Tiger cake

tiger-cakeI was given a book on Cool Layer Cakes last year (find it on Amazon here and the Tiger Cake was the one which really captured my imagination, not least because the stripes in it go up and down. I couldn’t see how this could be achieved in cake but it turns out not to be so difficult after all.

All you have to do is mix up some different colours of cake mix and drop it, spoonful by spoonful, into the centre of a cake tin. As each new layer presses down on what’s underneath, the batter is slowly pushed to the sides to rise up in stripes. A soft batter is the key; mine wasn’t quite as soft as I had hoped and it took a bit of effort to ease it off the spoon. I used cocoa powder to flavour the brown batter and orange zest and juice for the orange one, leaving a small amount plain.

I used this youtube video  as inspiration for the icing but instead of black buttercream I used cut pieces of black fondant icing. These were layered over a buttercream base in shades of cream and orange. The real test, of course, was cutting into it, and I was so pleased when I  realised it had actually worked! Baking isn’t really my thing but I may be making this one again…

Leave a Reply

