Midsummer

Hard to believe we’re halfway through the year, isn’t it? Next Christmas is nearer to us than last Christmas, and the longest day is in the past… but I still plan to enjoy my summer. The garden is requiring more and more work, and the weeds are sprouting; but so are the roses. I’ve even spotted a couple of white butterflies flitting around in the garden.

A quick knit for this month’s charity, after the squares I made last month. June’s knit is a mouse to keep a lonely cat amused, for Cats Protection. The pattern came from their website and only takes about half an hour to knit, so I ended up making two, in very vivid colours.  It might be fun to make a whole range of them as children’s toys, with a princess and witch and king decorated in scraps of felt – something else to add to my list!

I started revising the first novel I wrote, and it’s amazing and somewhat comforting to see that I have improved in my craft slightly; I can now look at a phrase or sentence or piece of description and see ways to improve it. I still struggle terribly with plotting, though, so I’m looking forward to one of the sessions at the RNA conference which covers plotting and pantsing (going by the seat of one’s pants!). I hope I can learn lots, and put it into practise – we’ll see what happens when July rolls round. In the meantime, if you do know of a good book on the subject, please recommend it to me.

Leave a Reply

